Awaken to Thankful Living!

It’s that time of year where we take a moment and reflect on all the wonderful blessings in our lives. This act of being appreciative for all the abundance and prosperity that is available to us each day is what Thanksgiving is all about.

Having loving family members in my life as well as good health and good friends are paramount to my leading a life worth living. How about you? What makes you thankful for living? Who are the important people in your life? Do they know how you feel? I just love taking a few moments sharing this gratitude and appreciation with my loved ones at the dinner table each night as well as holding the space of gratefulness before each meal in prayer as we say grace. What rituals do you practice that entice the practice of gratitude into your everyday life? I also have been doing a 40day Gratitude Journal that’s been amazing. Listing ten things I am thankful for each day has been like a prescription for awakening to thankful living. While I knew about this practice before, I hadn’t practiced it as whole heartedly as this time from October 17th until Thanksgiving. It is also a practice that I plan on continuing as I feel my heart has expanded by being more open and receptive to the grace of thankfulness.

But most of all, what does this time of year mean to you? What does Thanksgiving mean to you? I hope its more than the turkey or shopping on black Friday as these things are only the trappings of the holiday and are devoid of the true meaning behind Thanksgiving. My prayer for you is a Spiritual Awakening to Thankful Living today and everyday so that the magic and heart of the season fills you with a peace that surpasses all understanding.

Namaste’

Rev. Lisa Marie

Leave a Reply

