Soul Searching…

“Many of life’s failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.”
Thomas A. Edison

 Where in your life do you feel like throwing in the towel? For me, this past week, it was with my own church! It’s hard to discern “responding” from “reacting” to uncomfortable feedback. I gave up on a spiritual program I’ve been working toward for several years because I was offended and deeply hurt. In essence, I gave up and decided to stop fighting after doing some soul searching. I also plan on continuing my spiritual studies elsewhere and know that my Spirit is ever expanding and expressing itself in new and creative ways.

While we soul search, though, dark clouds may roll in and distort the scenery with shadows of uncertainty and doubt. I think this is my “dark night of the soul”. While I know good will come out of all this, my humanness is still reeling with all the emotion. This is normal whenever our world gets turned upside down.

“Good judgment comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgment.”
Barry LePatner

Another good quote that stood out at me. So where in your life have you experienced bad judgement? For me, from reacting too soon or out of hurt/ anger. Can you relate? Who hasn’t?

“Always be ‘opportunity-ready’ – The greatest door-opening opportunities often come in the form of objections.”
Lisa Washington

The objections in my life are mistrust, anger and fear. What are yours? I can honestly say that I object to meeting in groups of 3 as I find it quite intimidating! I also object to all “authority figures” who think “their way” or “opinion”, is the only one that counts! I object to slave labor, unsafe and toxic working conditions. I object to corporations and large businesses of all kinds for screwing the average worker in order to grow larger profit margins. I object to the US. lack of socialized health care. I object to inequality and reverse discrimination that is now rampant in our country. I object to poverty and believe that everyone has the right to make a decent living doing what they love.  I object to Big Oil. I object to pollution. I object to harsh criticism. I also object to hierarchy and ideas of separation. We are all ONE… One Nation, Under God, Indivisible, with Liberty and Justice for All !

Leave a Reply

